Backlash

Moderator: The Merrimack Volunteer Moderators

Backlash

Postby Dennis King » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:15 pm

Well, the school teachers got what they wanted but I wonder if they will regret this craven act.

(you would never know a teacher was there if you read the Telegraph)

My point is voters will pay attention to this. They will see this for what it is, teachers demanding we keep them employed even when enrollment numbers say we do not need them anymore.

Leave it to unions to demand a job for life regardless of the need.

The taxpayers have been more than fair with the teachers. I recall a 21 percent raise over three years was given out (any of you taxpayers out there make that much?) How about a cadillac medical coverage, don't forget all the days off and a six hour work day.

Now before you jump on me, I used to be a teacher (back when they really got paid garbage and that is why I left). It is no longer the case and we taxpayers continue to live under this myth.

The backlash:

Well I suspect the voters will vote for school board members who pledge an 80/20 health plan, a cut in time off for training -do it on your own time like the rest of the world, a cap of 2 percent on raises, a return of the surplus money and not a single job added back as recommended by the school board.

This is now far more likely now that the teachers have gone and forced the taxpayers to pay an extra 3/4 of a million dollars for jobs that are not needed.

I do hope people wake up and am eager to hear this pledge from each and every candidate for school board.

It is time for the taxpayer interest to prevail!
Dennis King

Postby T Dutton » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:45 pm

Dennis

Most companies pay for training. In order to maintain their cerifications teachers need to training.

Some of the days off are for training. I know many teachers who take night classes or online classes to maintain certification
T Dutton

Postby Linda Nickerson » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:54 pm